dsc00649.jpg

Since I’ve started cooking on a more regular basis (for me, that was after I got married), I’ve come across a few recipes that have seemed to “click,” meaning that I’ve made them enough times to feel fairly confident with them. One of those is Quiche Lorraine. I actually made this a few times before Jeff and I married, but I’ve made it many times since then.

This recipe is a favorite for me not only because I love quiche, but also because it’s such a versatile recipe. I can serve it for breakfast, lunch, or dinner without its ever seeming out of place. I can also easily double this recipe since many of the ingredients come packaged in amounts that are twice what’s called for (pie crust, eggs, whipping cream, etc.). This quiche recipe is also one that is not too wet (I can’t abide wet quiche). I usually make the quiche in a pie plate (and I’ve also used a tart pan); but I’ve also made mini-quiches with small pans Jeff gave me for Christmas. Those are the mini-quiches in the photos. This recipe is from The Southern Living Cookbook.

Quiche Lorraine

  • 1 refrigerated pie crust (or you can make your own)
  • 8 bacon slices, cut into 1/2-inch pieces
  • 4 green onions, chopped
  • 2 cups (8 oz) shredded Swiss cheese, divided
  • 6 large eggs
  • 1 cup whipping cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground white pepper (I use black)
  • Nutmeg to sprinkle on top

Fit pie crust into a 9-inch pie plate according to package directions; fold edges under and crimp.

Bake at 400 degrees for 7 minutes (I use pie weights for part of that time); remove from oven.

Cook bacon pieces in a large skillet until crisp; drain on paper towels and crumble. Sprinkle bacon, green onions, and 1 cup cheese into prepared crust.

Whisk together eggs and next 4 ingredients; pour mixture into crust, and sprinkle with remaining 1 cup cheese and nutmeg.

Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minuted or until set. Let stand for 10 minutes (it will continue to cook).

Total time: I find that the whole process takes about 1 hour and 45 minutes. But, again, it’s versatile, and a lot of prep can be done ahead of time. When I served this at a brunch, I prepped most of the items on Friday night, so making it on Saturday morning was fairly easy (and since it cooks for about 40 minutes, that gives you time to get ready or do other things).

My last tip is one that I got from America’s Test Kitchen: try to have everything prepped (including the whisking of the eggs, cream, etc) so that when the crust comes out of the oven, you can assemble the quiche right away and put it back in the oven as soon as the temperature lowers 50 degrees. ATK mentioned that working with a still-hot crust was one key to a good quiche, and I’ve found that advice to be sound.

dsc00653.jpg

