The first time I belonged to a reading group was in grad school, and I loved it. After I left school and moved home to Virginia, I never settled into new one for any solid length of time, and I missed being part of one. But now, here in Louisville, a friend and I have started a new reading group that’s off to a great start. Granted, we’re only three months in, but I have a good expectation that this group will continue to flourish. We consist of about 10 women so far, and we meet for a few hours once a month on Saturday mornings. We read mostly fiction, with perhaps a few other genres to be thrown in on occasion. So far our choices have been The Kite Runner (December), The Namesake (January), and, for this month, Peace Like a River by Leif Enger, a wonderful book that I’m halfway through and which has echoes of To Kill a Mockingbird.

