I’m sure many people have known about cake mix cookies for ever, but I didn’t know about them until just a couple years ago when I saw the recipe in a Hints from Heloise column in the paper. Sometimes you want to make cookies from scratch, but other times you just want to make quick cookies (and yet not descend to the level of pull-apart Pillsbury cookies!). Apparently you can make lots of variations using different cake mixes and different add-ins. But I’ve made only one kind since Jeff and I have been very happy with the results: chocolate cake mix with white chocolate/semisweet chocolate swirl chips.

Cake Mix Cookies

  • 1 box regular cake mix
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup of your choice of morsels

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Then mix only the oil and eggs with a box of regular cake mix (don’t add water). Add whichever morsels you’d like and mix well. (I mix by hand; I tried it once with a mixer and the result was odd.) Place the dough by teaspoonful on ungreased cookie sheets and bake 8-10 minutes. Let cool.

I usually get about 28 cookies. Don’t overcook them or they’ll be dry the next day. It’s okay if they look somewhat underdone.

Has anyone else made other versions of cake mix cookies? Please share!

