ms-cookiesI recently purchased Martha Stewart’s Cookies, a cookbook devoted entirely to cookies. I have made only a few of the recipes so far, but the easiest and most delicious has been the recipe for snickerdoodles.

I don’t know that I would have listed snickerdoodles as a favorite cookie before trying this recipe, but I would now. These cookies have consistently turned out fabulously. I also like that the ingredients are normal, everyday ingredients that you most likely have in your pantry.

Snickerdoodles

  • 2 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp. sugar and 2 tsp. ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 F. Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt into a bowl. In another bowl, mix butter and sugar on medium speed until pale and fluffy (about 3 minutes). Mix in eggs. Reduce speed to low; gradually mix in flour mixture.

Stir together 2 tbsp. sugar and 2 tsp. cinnamon in a small bowl. Shape dough into balls (I use a cookie scoop). Roll in cinnamon-sugar. Space 3 inches apart on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.

Bake cookies, rotating sheets halfway through, until edges are golden, 12-15 minutes. Let cool on wire racks.

Notes: The recipe says it makes about 20 cookies, but those must be some big cookies! I usually get about 3 dozen; also, the parchment paper is key — I forgot it once and the cookies were jagged on the bottom. They turn out much better with parchment paper, and clean-up is easy!

